BREAKING: Luka Modric Breaks 10-yr Jinx of Ronaldo-Messi Dominance, wins 2018 Ballon D’or [READ MORE]

By John Izabi, 

Fresh report reaching NEWS FLAKES NG as at PRESS TIME has it that Real Madrid Midfielder and Croatian World Cup runners – up Captain Luka Modric has finally broken the over 10 years jinx of Ronaldo-Messi dominance in global football by winning this year’s 2018 FIFA Ballon D’or Award ahead of the duo.

This latest achievement for Modric caps up what most Sports pundits and Football followers across the globe have described as most remarkable in the career of the Croatian who also happens to be the first player to do so in the small European football loving nation.

Sadly enough, same can not be said for Argentine and Barcelona forward, Lionel Messi who finished in an unfortunately ridiculous fifth place in the final standings of the 2018 Ballon D’or ratings behind Modric, Ronaldo, Griezmann and French youngster, Kylian Mbappe, an event many football lovers have predicted to may may have  Signalled the end of an era for the 5-time Ballon D’or winner.

Lionel Messi

Here’s how the official Top 10 final Shortlist looks like as captured by NEWS FLAKES NG Sports Desk:

2 – Ronaldo
3 – Griezmann
4 – Mbappe
5 – Messi
6 – Salah
7- Varane
8 – Hazard
9 – KDB
10 – Kane

Meanwhile, a graphic history of the winners of the prestigious FIFA Ballon D’or Award especially in the last ten years including other winners since inception is shared below as obtained by NEWS FLAKES NG:

Also, Norway and Lyon forward Ada Hegerberg wins the first ever Women’s Ballon d’Or while French youngster, Kylian Mbappe picked up the award in the U-21 category, the very first edition of such award in the class of the Ballon D’or. 

Ada Hegerberg
Kylian Mbappe

More Details Shortly!!!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *