Melaye Downs APC in Kogi, Ekweremadu wins 5th term, as Akpabio Set to Lose in A/ibom [SEE LATEST RESULTS]


Fresh report reaching NEWS FLAKES NG as at PRESS TIME has it that Senator Dino Melaye representing Kogi West senatorial district at the National Assembly is leading Senator Smart Adeyemi according to the result from INEC office in Lokoja.

Out of seven local government councils, Melaye won six local government councils.

Melaye is contesting under the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) while Senator Adeyemi is contesting under the platform of the All Progressive Congress (APC).

[READ ALSO] Hackers have Shutdown INEC servers to enable APC rigging, PDP alleges [READ MORE]

Both of them are from Ijumu local government council. While Senator Smart Adeyemi is from Iyara in Ijumu, Senator Dino Melaye is from Ayetoro-Gbede also in Ijumu local government council.

In Kabba-Bunu LGA, Senator Smart Adeyemi of APC scored 8971 while Melaye of PDP scored 14756. In Kogi local government council, PDP scored 11024 while APC scored 15639; in Ijumu, PDP scored 11749 while APC 8517.

[READ ALSO] Saraki loses, Dogara Wins bid to return to NASS, Buhari, Atiku in tight race [SEE LATEST RESULTS]

In Lokoja local government, PDP scored 24576 while APC 18800. In Yagba West, PDP scored 8942 while APC scored 6799.

Also, in Mopa, scored PDP 5112 while APC scored 3668.

In Yagba East, PDP scored 8638 while APC 5077. Adeyemi scored a total votes of 67, 471 while Senator Melaye scored 84, 797.

Ekweremadu wins 5th Senate term

Meanwhile, Ike Ekweremadu, the Peoples Democratic Party candidate and deputy senate president has been declared winner of Enugu West Senatorial District for the fifth time in Saturday Presidential/ National Assembly elections .


Ekweremadu polled 86 ,088 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mrs Juliet Ibekaku -Nwagwu of the All Progressives Congress ( APC ) who scored 15 ,187 votes.

[READ ALSO] PDP planning to announce fake results – APC [READ MORE]

The Returning Officer, Prof Douglas Nwagbo of the University of Nigeria , Nsukka ( UNN ) announced the results in Awgu on Sunday .

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that with the victory , Ekweremadu holds the senatorial mandate for the 5 time .

Reacting to the development, the deputy senate president said he was humbled by the result because it was the first time a senator would be voted the fifth time in Nigeria .

[READ ALSO] Delaying Results is Dangerous, Dogara Cautions INEC [READ MORE]

He applauded the Independent National Electoral Commission for the smooth and peaceful conduct of the elections . ( NAN )

Atiku leads in Akwa Ibom as Akpabio set to lose Senate

The presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Atiku Abubakar, is in clear lead out of the 17 local government area results released so far in Akwa Ibom State by the Independent National Electoral Commission in Uyo.

[READ ALSO] BREAKING: Gov Amosun emerges Senator – elect in Ogun [READ MORE]

According to the results released at the state INEC in the presence of the Returning Officer, Prof . Faraday Osasere , Atiku won against his closest rival, President Muhammadu Buhari with clear margin .


This came just as indications emerged that Senator Godswill Akpabio might lose his re – election bid to his PDP rival, Chris Ekpenyong .

The confirmed 17 presidential results released so far are Mbo LGA , APC 5299 , PDP 4750; Ibeno LGA , APC 1011 PDP 6373 ; Urue Offong / Oruko LGA , APC 6111 , PDP 7431 ; Nsit Atai LGA , APC 6539, PDP 11692 ; Obot -Akara LGA , APC 6174, PDP 12 ,250 ; Mkpat Enin LGA , APC 3191, PDP 13646 ; Onna LGA , APC 1850, PDP 21790 ; Ikot Abasi LGA , APC 5710 , PDP 8353 ; Eastern Obolo LGA , APC 1406, PDP 8890 ; Ikono LGA , APC 3166 , PDP 8100; Ini LGA , APC 5646 , PDP 13344 ; Uruan LGA , APC 5437 , PDP 10624 ; Esit – Eket LGA , APC 1405 , PDP 11146 ; Nsit Ubium LGA , APC 5840, PDP 11575 ; Etinan LGA APC 5223, PDP 18495 ; Ika LGA , APC 3352, PDP 10493 and Nsit Ibom LGA , APC 5776, PDP 12201 .

For the unofficially confirmed result of the Ikot – Ekpene senatorial district where Akpabio is believed to have been defeated , the results are Etim Ekpo LGA , PDP 6603 , APC 2671 ; Abak LGA , PDP 10926 , APC 9787 ; Ika LGA , PDP 9257 , APC 4152 ; Ukanafun LGA , PDP 25952 , APC 14452 ; Oruk Anam, PDP 25123 , APC 10534 ; Obot – Akara, PDP 13184 , APC 6229 ; Ikono, PDP 7951 , APC 3083; Ini LGA PDP 13302 , APC 5897 .

Punch, NAN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *