AFCON 2019: Nigeria to face Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi as CAF unveils draws [READ MORE]

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) yesterday unveiled the official Draws and  fixtures for this year’s TOTAL African Cup of Nations (AFCON) slated to come up in the pyramid country of Egypt.

The draws ceremony held yesterday behind the famous Giza Pyramids saw the Super Eagles of Nigeria paired against Guinea, Madagascar and Burundi in Group B while Group D consisting of Morocco, Cote Divore, South Africa and Namibia is already being tauted as the obvious ‘Group of death’ by most football pundits across the globe. 

See full groupings below as captured by NEWS FLAKES NG;

The 32nd Africa Cup of Nations will hold from June 21 to July 19 in six venues: Cairo International Stadium, Borg El -Arab Stadium, Alexandria; Suez Stadium , Air Defence Stadium, Ismaili Stadium and Al Salam Stadium.

It is the biggest Africa Cup of Nations finals in the history of the competition , due to feature 24 teams, as against three teams that took part in the first edition of the competition in Sudan 62 years ago.

Hosts Egypt ( who have won the competition the highest number of times : seven ), Cameroon ( five -time winners and cup holders ), Nigeria ( three -time winners) , 2004 champions Tunisia, Senegal and 1976 champions Morocco are the seeded countries in the draw.

Egypt is also the country to have taken part the most in the championship, as she records a 24th appearance, while Ivory Coast is heading for a 23rd show and Ghana will be making a 22nd appearance. Tunisia will make a 19th appearance while Nigeria will make her 18th appearance .



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *