Commissioners List: Osoba’s loyalists angry with Abiodun

ABEOKUTA – Some loyalists of former governor of Ogun State, Chief Segun Osoba, are reportedly angry with the state governor, Dapo Abiodun over the composition of his commissioner-nominees list.

Abiodun had submitted the list comprising 18 names to the state House of Assembly for approval.

Few hours after the list was read by the Speaker of the Assembly, Olakunle Oluomo, some loyalists of Osoba expressed anger over the composition of the list which they described as lopsided.

A press conference which had earlier been scheduled to hold at the secretariat of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Oke-Ilewo on Friday was later cancelled.

Attempts to get some of the loyalists of Osoba to speak on the development did not succeed as they declined comments.

[SEE ALSO] BREAKING: Abiodun Transmits Names of 18 Commissioner-Nominees To Ogun Assembly for Approval [SEE FULL LIST]

It was gathered that Chief Osoba whose followers were not happy with the situation was indifferent to the list.

Meanwhile, it was learnt that Abiodun might send three additional names of commissioner-nominees to the assembly for consideration and approval.

According to a private station in Abeokuta, the proposed additional nominees was as a result of alleged pressure mounted on the governor from power blocks in the state All Progressives Congress over the list he forwarded to the assembly few days ago.

Chief Osoba

Further investigation revealed that two of the three new nominees might come from Osoba’s camp to pacify them.

The assembly has fixed Monday for the screening of the 18 nominees submitted to it by Governor Abiodun.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *